Oxford Days in Vietnam

First of all apologies to the teachers in Can Tho: circumstances beyond my control meant that I couldn’t be there. The slides of the talks given at the Oxford Days events in HCMC and Hanoi are available for download below in pdf format.

Teaching as a daily routine
I get up, I have breakfast, I go to school….In this session we’ll be taking a closer look at our daily teaching routine. Does everything run like clockwork, or is it a daily struggle? What could we change or improve? The session will look at a range of practical ideas and useful tips to help us establish the kind of classroom habits, routines and traditions that can make our teaching more effective – and make learning lots more fun.

Engaging All Learners in the Mixed-Ability Classroom
This session will begin by considering what we mean by the term ‘mixed ability’ before going on to look at some of the practicalities of working effectively with mixed groups. We’ll look at how materials and language-learning activities can be differentiated to make them more inclusive and accessible. We’ll also discuss principles and techniques for creating a positive classroom environment – one in which all learners can make valid contributions. Finally, we’ll look beyond language in order to consider the benefits of a whole-person approach to teaching in the mixed-ability classroom.

4 thoughts on “Oxford Days in Vietnam

  1. Tuyen

    Hello Edmund,

    Thanks for sharing the materials. I also find your talks both at Oxford Day and VUS very useful and practical to apply for my classes.

    I’m trying to find out a tool to make words located in different areas in a slide like the one in slide 27 (Get thinking, ten-word dialogues) of “Teaching as a daily routine in Vietnam”. Did you make the words random in space by yourself or did you use a tool to generate it? Please share me the tool.

    Thanks a lot for everything.

    Tuyen

    Reply
    1. Edmund Dudley Post author

      Hi Tuyen
      I’m glad you found the talks useful. In answer to your question, there is no special tool for this. I arranged the shapes manually. If you find a better way of doing this, let me know! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *